Why are the Young Men not Getting Married?

Read about it here.

My (Naive) Early 20’s

I figured I would share some perspective from the viewpoint of a young man living in America in 2015. When I was younger in my 20’s, I had big ambitions of meeting a good woman, marrying her, and having children. But at the age of 30, those plans haven’t materialized. Of course, I was busy with school from age 18 until age 29, so I was pretty much incapacitated dating-wise during those years. I went on a few dates with some lovely young women, but it never led to anything remotely close to marriage.

Older and Wiser

Nowadays, I personally find marriage unpalatable, for reasons of self-preservation. I have worked very hard to get to my position in life. I spent countless hours learning, studying, doing homework, writing papers, doing courses, doing research, and writing my theses. Engineering school was damn tough, and investments have to pay off. Forgive me for being selfish, but I would very much like to enjoy the fruits of my labor. Getting married and having children really slams the brakes on your freedom, and I want to enjoy what remains of my youth now that I am out of school and have money. And wives and children eat money like crazy.

The Risk of Divorce

Then there is the issue of divorce. I make a good income. I’d very much like to keep it. Divorce rates are 50%, and women are overwhelmingly the initiators of divorce proceedings. And I don’t ever want to have to show my face in family court. What is the point of getting married, when it is a 50% chance at committing financial suicide?

The Lack of Quality Women

In summation, I just have no motivation anymore to pursue women or get married. It’s too much effort, too much work, too much time, and too much money, all for a prize of dubious worth saddled with massive risk. Compounding the problem, as I’ve said in previous posts, is that the quality of American women has declined greatly into this peculiar year of 2015. I don’t deal with tramp stamps, facial piercings, convicted felons, drug users, alcoholics, the unemployed, or single moms, which really cuts down my pool of potential mates. I rarely encounter women that can get through this sieve, and often the ones that can are fat.

What is the point of pursuing women that, for all intents and purposes, are good nothing other than a jump off?

Leave a Reply

