My Year of 2015 in Books

In 2015, I committed myself to reading 10 books during the year, and I succeeded in my goal by reading 11. The books I read were:

  1. Downtown White Police
  2. Sexual Utopia in Power
  3. Understanding Human History
  4. Optimal Control and Estimation
  5. Arrest-Proof Yourself
  6. The Ascent of Money
  7. The Intelligent Investor
  8. A Rumor of War
  9. The Prince
  10. The Richest Man in Babylon
  11. Worthless

Brief, one-sentence reviews of each one:

  1. 2 out of 5 stars. The content was good, but the author’s writing isn’t that great.
  2. 4 out of 5 stars. Excellent writing and content on gender dynamics in the sexual dystopia of 2015 America.
  3. 4 out of 5 stars. Excellent writing and thoroughly researched, but I find studies based solely on computer simulations to be lacking.
  4. 3 out of stars. This book was a little beyond my skill level, and what I did understand was not very useful to me anyways.
  5. 5 out of 5 stars. The author humorously discusses the problems with the criminal justice system, as well as strategies for keeping your butt out of it.
  6. 4 out of 5 stars. A well-done discussion of the origins of money and credit and how they impact our modern life.
  7. 4 out of 5 stars. The advice is good, but the content is dated.
  8. 5 out of 5 stars. An emotional account of a combat veteran of the Vietnam War; some scenes from this book were put practically verbatim into the film “Platoon.”
  9. 4 out of 5 stars. Machiavelli’s classical treatise on how to obtain and keep political power.
  10. 5 out of 5 stars. This book is an instruction manual on how to become wealthy and live a life of relative comfort, while vast legions languish in poverty or debt-slavery.
  11. 4 out of 5 stars. This is a good read for the new high-school graduate that needs sound advice on how to choose a career and educational path.

Moving Forward Into 2016

I’ve already acquired several books for Christmas, and have quite a bit more on my reading plate for 2016. I found 10 books to be a rather easy goal, so I’ve upped it to 15 books for this year. I have about 5 books half-read that I need to finish. Here is a partial list of what I have planned for 2016:

I also need to finish these books off; they are all lying around half-read:

 

Leave a Reply

